POMPEY POP

Learning to Play (Help?)

2 Comments

Over the past four weeks I’ve been talking to a College in the region about spending some of my retirement studying music. I was neither averse to nor desperate to study music theory, what I wanted in particular was to spend one/two etc years (part time) developing my reasonable skills as a singer, trying new stuff (especially jazz) and working on my pretty mediocre skills as a guitarist.

I thought the college was the answer but it’s been a poor experience and I’m not going. I won’t reveal the name of the place (but it’s in the region not Pompey) and I don’t wish to discuss the issues further but I’m very disappointed, SO I’m after some advice and I figure this might be the place

I’d like to hear suggestions about how and where an old white ‘blues’ singer with a ponderous guitar style but a deep love of music can study on a regular basis and get better – individually or in a class. I’m prepared to pay and prepared to work (I play my guitar and sing every day). The internet is a good resource but it’s not enough on its own. So send me some ideas please

Author: pompeypop

University lecturer, longtime local musician and recently historian of popular music - especially in and around Portsmouth. My blog is entirely about that topic

2 thoughts on “Learning to Play (Help?)

  1. Hi there. I teach all sorts of guitar styles, but jazz guitar in particular. I run regular jazz guitar workshops in the Romsey area with another tutor. I live in Portsmouth, so perhaps you can contact me for a chat/trial session. Regards Marc

  2. Dave There’s a Jazz Band Workshop course : a Grounding in Theory and Practice at the University of Sussex and there is always Lou’s choir!!

Leave a Reply

