POMPEY POP

No Summertime Blues!

1 Comment

Ain’t this weather great! If you’re abroad or whatever I should explain that September is ending & October opening with a heatwave in Sunny Southsea.

I’d like to thank people for kind replies about my music studies. I have a one-to-one booked next Thursday which I think may well be just what I need – but I’ll check other things too.

Now – two comments about the book. I reckon we need to sell between 600-700 to cover all costs and we’re printing 1000 so IF (no assumptions, but IF) things go well there will be a bit of dosh over and I have a couple of ideas:

1. As promised I’m responding to Mick’s thought about a trip to the Flamingo reunion. Saving a journey,  I reckon we might replicate such an event in Pompey, booking one of those classic 60s club bands (Dowliners Sect?) and reforming a local supergroup (I’m thinking Dynamos/J Crow/Strollers or whatever) to appear with them. We could use the extra money to book the gig (JR will help I’m sure – maybe at the Dockyard Club?) and IF POSSIBLE I’d love to charge five bob to get in and call it the Pompey Pop RENDEZVOUS!! We’ll see …

2. You’ll be used to my love of cricket. There’s a Pompey company developing a version for the kids called Cage Cricket. Ian Botham is ‘on board’ and they are looking to set up facilities at local schools and on the seafront. I’d love a Pompey Pop sponsored version especially as I’m very keen to do something for Pompey teenagers who are these days the same age we were back in the golden days.

Let me know what you think, buy an ice cream and slap on the suncream! – Dave

Author: pompeypop

University lecturer, longtime local musician and recently historian of popular music - especially in and around Portsmouth. My blog is entirely about that topic

One thought on “No Summertime Blues!

  1. Dave, I’m up for this – let’s talk on regular e mail! Got a few ideas….
    J.R

Leave a Reply

