POMPEY POP

The Crestas

Leave a comment

Forwarded by Mick from Gill who I was mentioning last week – a delightful addition to the collection from the early days. Gill said:

“I wondered if you would like the attached pic of the Crestas for the collection. Perhaps you took the photograph?  The venue was  probably  the Coop Hall – 1960 ish – and I think that the figure in the  background might be Tony Porter, who managed the group.

As a member of the Crestas ( I think that the Vauxhall Cresta had something to do with the choice of name) it was, for some reason, deemed necessary for me to have a stage name – Diane McKay.  I have always regretted that we did not save more memorabilia from those days, but I know that we shall always be very grateful that you did, Mick !

Very best wishes,

Gill Glover (nee Hutchins).

P.S. My other half – Mick (Glover) – would want me to send his regards  too. ( He is still playing gigs, incidentally…..)”

 

Author: pompeypop

University lecturer, longtime local musician and recently historian of popular music - especially in and around Portsmouth. My blog is entirely about that topic

Leave a Reply

