POMPEY POP

I woke up (briefly)

13 Comments

‘Hot Rod’ Jim Lawrence drew my attention to an interesting photo with local connections in a ‘paper I rarely see. It’s an interesting pic so worth a mention and you can find it at

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2872004/Jagger-Cilla-snapshot-surprisingly-smartly-dressed-dawn-pop-Stars-pose-rehearsals-1964-s-Ready-Steady-Rave-Mad-Mod-Ball.html

Among my questions are, who is the ‘bird’ eyeing up Billy J Kramer and is that bloke back, right waving, drowning or a left-over Nazi?

OK, back to the hibernating (and the winter theme)

Author: pompeypop

University lecturer, longtime local musician and recently historian of popular music - especially in and around Portsmouth. My blog is entirely about that topic

13 thoughts on “I woke up (briefly)

  1. Very Cool article. Enjoyed it. What is amazing is just how many have passed. Also yes that really does sum ip 1964 in terms of style. It seems to me that despite digression into denim and hippie fashions of the late 60s and then the 70s, If I look at the current pictures of the musicians on this blog I see ties, jumpers and smart jackets showing that in many cases the circle of style has returned to those days. Mind you no cuban heeled boots but lots of leather jackets.

  2. Actually I’ve just realised it’s Cathy McGowan.

  3. yes, and the guy waving is Johnny Banks drummer with the Merseybeats, i liked his style back then…

  4. Have a look – no wonder Anello & Davide made so much money.

    LT

  5. http://uk.ask.com/youtube?q=rufus+thomas+wattstax&v=O3Yh16GctDk&qsrc=472…………………………….
    Another one of my ‘heroes ‘ passed today in 1972…………………..How cool was this for crowd control..???

  6. NO NO NO……… I’m getting my worms muxed ip……………………Wattstax was 72……………..Good old Rufus finished ‘Walking the Dog ‘…..
    15th dec 2001………………………………

  7. In Steel Mill days We used to play Walkin the Dog but I’ve no idea what it all means. Who broke the needle? What was she sewing?

  8. Not really relevant but I found this and thought I would share it.

  9. Malc, I love that voice. He could sing anything quite beautifully.

  10. uk.ask.com/youtube?q=glen+miller&v=FAQgXPTekOU…………………….memorial choice for this day in 1944…………….
    Great dance sequence…………..great sound

  11. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FAQgXPTekOU…………………above link to the tube…….(hopefully)

Leave a Reply

