POMPEY POP

Merry Christmas Bloggers

20 Comments

No more new posts for the next three days but I’ll be checking Comments (maybe even adding one or two)

I wish you all a Very Merry Christmas whatever you choose to do. A reminder that in the first two years in December (2010 and 2011) the Blog had day-by-day stuff about Pompey Christmases past and less usual Christmas music, which you can still see/hear

I’ve read Christmas Carol as usual but new to me this year was Mystery in White: a Christmas Crime Story by J Jefferson Farjeon – a ‘thriller’ set and published in the late 1930s and re-published this year.

MRA and I have just watched It’s a Wonderful Life (again) which includes this great shot

It's a Wonderful Life

On the wall under the portrait of George’s late father, the saying reads

“All You Can Take With You, Is That Which You’ve Given Away”

And finally my favourite Christmas music this year (MRA and I have gone a bit choral) is “Bethlehem Down” – written by Englishman Peter Warlock in 1927. He took on that pseudonym because he was interested in the occult but I have no evidence that the Warlocks took his name before becoming the Grateful Dead. Maybe?

MERRY CHRISTMAS!

Author: pompeypop

University lecturer, longtime local musician and recently historian of popular music - especially in and around Portsmouth. My blog is entirely about that topic

20 thoughts on “Merry Christmas Bloggers

  1. A VERY MERRY XMAS TO MRA AND YOUR GOOD SELF DAVE.
    It’s been a good year for music. How people can say that there’s no decent live music around the area confounds me. The renewed interest in the mod era and all that goes with it is very interesting and quite exciting really.
    The art scene has been , once again, served well by the Pallant House Gallery and the National Open Art exhibition at the Minerva Theatre, Chichester (free) is well worth visiting.
    The blog has thrown up some interesting topics as usual and long may it continue.
    Next year should be good with the Birdcage anniversary coming up and the ever growing Access All Areas exhibition (now also free) flourishing – thanks mainly to Nigel, Phil and yourself. Maybe Phil will have learnt to fly by next year !!
    Here’s wishing everyone a Happy New Year.

  2. Well Merry Christmas to you and yours Dave. Sounds like you are relaxing and easing into the holiday. Good for you. And of course you have Boxing Day as well (which we don’t have here) to further kick back and enjoy. I shall be thinking of you as I have taken a few extra days vacation so I can scrape and paint the front of the house while it is cool. Mmmh WInter so far has been in the 80’s these past few days so the plan is not working too well. Plenty of water breaks for the old man but I will be humming Christmas Songs as I work away. Plenty of ladders and scaffolding 18feet up with the wife standing down below fingering the pages of the life insurance policy.
    Enjoy young man feel free to eat too much and drink too much we are too close to the finish line to care.

    • Many Thanks Pete – but watch out for that ladder!! Not a good year for Bloggers and ladders …

      • Well that is true Dave. I followed the blog of Phil’s attempt to copy Pink Floyd’s “Learning To Fly” and don’t want to repeat that. Well it’s 6:30 here and dark but a nice evening currently 75F with 82 forecast for tomorrow. Some chance of the odd thunderstorm. Time to rest and watch an episode of” Touching Evil” on YouTube. Love that series.

  3. Happy Christmas to you and YRA, Dr. Dave! A great year of blogs, lots of fun, and really keeps me in touch with my roots, now I’m living over in the “auld country”. Last night I went into Milltown Malbay village where there was a candlelight carol concert – which was repeated again in Hillery’s Bar, this time accompanied by three great fiddle players and a keyboard player. A lovely nostalgic night, where ‘Oh Little Town Of Bethlehem” was followed by ‘Santa Claus is Coming To Town’, then ‘Silent Night’ followed by ‘White Christmas’ – and then just for the hell of it I sang ‘Fairytale Of New York’ before we went into a rendition of Little Drummer Boy”. It ain’t trad, Dad!

    B.T.W… “Warlock” – basically means a man claiming or popularly believed to practice sorcery or witchcraft – is taken from the middle English word “warlike“, which is turn came from from the Old English “waerloga“ meaning literally  oath-breaker. “ Waer“ means pledge; and “loga” means  liar, which in turn is taken from “leogan“, to lie.

    The Grateful Dead began their career as The Warlocks in early 1965 from the remnants of a Palo Alto jug band called Mother McCree’s Uptown Jug Champions. The Warlocks; first gig was at Magoo’s Pizza in suburban Menlo Park, California on May 5, 1965. The show was not recorded and no-one even has the set list (Bah…) . The Warlocks changed their name after finding out there another band also called The Warlocks who had signed a recording contract. The first show under the new name Grateful Dead was in San Jose, California on December 4, 1965, at one of Ken Kesey’s Acid Tests.

    But a friend of the devil is a friend of mine….

  4. Merry Xmas to all

  5. Merry Christmas Doctor D and YRA and to all your bloggers for keeping the flame alive.
    Best wishes and a big thank you
    Graham

  6. Good morning Bloggers. If you’ve been good boys and girls, I hope you liked what I left for you. Thanks for the mince pie and the glass of Jim Beam. Ho, ho, ho.

    Mr S Claus

  7. *********POMPEYPOP BLOG…….STARDATE 25th DECEMBER 2014 ********
    Here we go then..Peaceful situation right now..just before 9:30 a.m ……………Cleared up reindeer shit and am now in charge of todays first drink……BRANDY COFFEE………….hhmmmm
    First thing is by way of a drinks invitation………………..Can we all get ourselves a drink at 12:00 lunchtime today and raise our glasses for a mass xmas day toast to and for each other for a fine year of blog , and remember those who we have lost………………………Two particular ‘music’ people who have left us on this date in the past….
    JIM SHERWOOD……..brilliant saxophonist from THE MOTHERS OF INVENTION……2011
    JAMES BROWN……….The godfather of soul …….2006

    Anybody out there needing ‘Christmas based’ tunes……..(especially six stringers)…….try this

    HO HO HO and HAPPY CHRISTMAS AND WATCH OUT 2015……………….blogsters everywhere…..

  8. *******HOPE YOU’RE KEEPING UP OUT THERE………………..Now gone 10:15 , and I am currently viewing what appears to be a pint of Boddingtons with my name on it…………………..Don’t get too concerned …I don’t intend to keep this up all day………..

  9. “Look Jan” I said to the lovely Lady Buckland “Phil suggested we all raise a glass (or tin in my case) at midday to toast The Blog and all who contribute to it and that`s why you`ve found me in the office with my Special Brew held aloft” “That`s the best excuse you`ve ever come up with- you`ve got a problem you know?” she said rather loudly- “You`ve lost three stone since your knee replacement op and I told you you had to stop drinking to give if a chance now look -first excuse there you are at midday toasting a blog!” – “Merry Christmas Jan “I replied as I began the treck up the stairs to the naughty boys room. Happy Christmas to all on this blog site – anybody got a spare Christmas Dinner going???????

  10. …CRICKEY………………………….I DIDN’T SEE THAT ONE COMING AS MUCH AS YOU PROBABLY DID !!!!
    HAPPY HUMBUG…….
    just now finished #1 G&T thanx………………..

  11. Well bugger it I missed the toast but I will raise my jar of imported Marmite to all the bloggers. Merry Christmas to you all.

  12. I really can’t understand how a whole bottle of Southern Comfort has dehydrated in the space of a day… There’s only about an inch left in the bottom.
    Oh look, that’s gone now too……
    As Tom Waits (thanks for the youtube, Malc!) once said “I’d rather have a full bottle in front of me than a full frontal lobotomy”…

    • He’ll be on the cleaning fluid before you know it. Cryin Canned Heat mama, it’s sure nuff killing me …
  13. My musical ‘celebration for the life of’…Today in 1999 one of the finest ‘soulsters’ and perhaps his best known tune….
    ****Enjoy your turkey sandwiches boys *******

  14. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6Z66wVo7uNw ok Christmas fuzzyhead,,,……if the link is crap…………………CURTIS MAYFIELD of courses

  15. Pompey Boxing Day Blues: I hope you’re still having fun despite the weather and (inevitably?) the football. I see that Pompey have just lost 0-2 at home which will spoil a lot of days. Boxing day footy always reminds me of Pompey losing 1-2 to Southampton at Fratton Park in 1974 (when I was still a loyal fan). It was a period when over 24 years Pompey lost 7 and drew 3 of 10 meetings with Southampton and I came to realise that supporting them was always going to be a matter of occasional triumphs and frequent disappointments. These days it seems to be pretty much only the latter which is very sad. For those of you who persevere despite everything I wish you a much happier 2015.

Leave a Reply

