POMPEY POP

The Birdcage Club: 50 Years and Counting

Leave a comment

NB If anyone reading this wants a digital copy (at this stage) please email me:

dave.allen@port.ac.uk

Pompey’s Birdcage Club will soon be 50 years old (it survives in spirit)

I’m not sure what will happen to celebrate the three Birdcage 50th anniversaries this year (opening in Southsea, moving to Eastney and the ‘official’ opening night) but at some point in 2015, I’m planning to publish a modest booklet listing as much information as I can about all the nights there.
There is still some work to do and there are still some questions – we may not answer them all – but I have compiled what I believe is the most up-to-date record and I’m circulating it to various people who may have observations to make – or maybe will just enjoy having it.
I’m entirely content for it to be shared with others – I figure there’s no need for any copyright. When I publish it will be cheap, just to cover costs.
Author: pompeypop

University lecturer, longtime local musician and recently historian of popular music - especially in and around Portsmouth. My blog is entirely about that topic

Leave a Reply

