POMPEY POP

Big Plans

9 Comments

I’ve got some nice stuff piling up for the Blog – a lovely story of the past from Colin Wood, a neat idea from Mick and some interesting thoughts from Pete, and I’ll get to them tomorrow onwards

Meanwhile from Big to Tiny – I reckon this is great fun. Malc sent it, unsure whether it fits the Blog – well it’s fine by me Malc; here’s the man who influenced Tiny Tim and Malc tells me that a bloke called Bob (can’t get away from him) played a Nick Lucas guitar before he went electric.

Actually another link – here he is at 84, this first song is on the new Bob album

Author: pompeypop

University lecturer, longtime local musician and recently historian of popular music - especially in and around Portsmouth. My blog is entirely about that topic

9 thoughts on “Big Plans

  1. What has any of the above has got anything to do with music, I don’t know ! Having said, I love Tom Waits, Johnny Dowd, Leonard Cohen, Eels, and many, many more !!
    I think that there is a difference between ‘off -centre and ‘taking the p**s !!

    • Blimey Oscar, you’re so upset, your sentence is running away from you – and you a Pompey Grammar boy. Settle down with one of those nice books old chum – this nasty stuff will go away!

  2. I once had a cd of Tiny Tim singing WITH Bob Dylan. It was pretty awful and (thankfully) most of the tracks were instrumentals. If I can remember any more about it (I’ve a vague recollection of ‘It ain’t me, babe’ or ‘Don’t think twice’ being on it) I’ll let you know – unless anyone out there has a copy.

  3. Graham, the album you had was probably a bootleg called “Down in the Basement“.

    I think you probably meant “I Got you Babe” rather than It Ain’t Me Babe”.

    The bootleg featured tracks recorded by Tiny Tin backed by the Band (a.k.a. The Hawks, originally recorded for the soundtrack of Peter Yarrow’s film “You Are What you Eat”.

    I Got You Babe (vocal: Tiny Tim, with Eleanor Baruchian)
    Memphis Tennessee (vocal: Tiny Tim)
    Instrumental #1 (Robertson)
    Instrumental #2 (Robertson)
    Instrumental #3 (Robertson)
    Instrumental #4 (Robertson)
    Sonny Boy (vocal: Tiny Tim)
    Piano Rag (Garth Hudson piano solo)
    Instrumental #5 (Robertson)
    Be My Baby (vocal: Tiny Tim)

    Not exactly indispensable, but it does add to the “Basement Tapes” legend!

  4. You’re dead right, Mr JR – it was ‘I got you babe’ – pretty horrendous and virtually unlistenable. Thanks for the additional info too.

Leave a Reply

