POMPEY POP

OK, Bonjour then (Part One)

2 Comments

The bass player is Colin Wood. Back in the summer of 1961 (while Hampshire of course were becoming County Cricket Champions), Colin was with Danny Raven & the Renegades when they were offered a tour to France – playing mostly at US Army bases. Colin takes up the story:

“I had been in the Renegades since 1959 and had started an apprenticeship with Wadhams Garage. When the France trip came up, Wadhams wouldn’t release me for the protracted gigs. This was the time the Beatles were in Hamburg, and in the spirit of the movie Some People, we optimistically felt that anything was possible.

I had quite a fight with my mum (not my dad). I wanted to go, but eventually she won and they left without me. A few of my friends were going to Beaulieu Jazz Festival and we decided to go on our motorcycles. I had a scary rear wheel puncture on the way, but carried on by pillion”.

Here is Colin (right) with his mate Al:

Al & Colin W to Beaulieu 1961

“It’s Newbolt Road Paulsgrove. Al lived there.We met the others in Pompey and then set off. Until Beaulieu, I had been a modern jazz buff, but ‘discovered’ trad and never looked back”

However, after the Renegades, Colin played beat/R&B with the Strollers and the J Crow Combo.

And my enigmatic post last night? Well Colin never got to France (of which more later) but Beaulieu is derived from the French for a beautiful place.

Author: pompeypop

University lecturer, longtime local musician and recently historian of popular music - especially in and around Portsmouth. My blog is entirely about that topic

2 thoughts on “OK, Bonjour then (Part One)

  1. Hah! You rosbif!!

Leave a Reply

