POMPEY POP

Pompey in the Media

4 Comments

Chris (‘Fossy’) found this of a band called Shoestring, telling me, “Hi Dave, found these on Facebook, don’t know if you have it it or not.  The person I know is Dave Young on the right .  The bass player is Neil Bertram.  I believe Dave used to play in bands at St Nicks Youth Club.  Both are on Facebook.” Thanks Chris

Shoestring

Also, Mr Greedy alerted me to the documentary about Dave Clark Five which is still on BBC Iplayer and includes Pompey’s beatnik Tom Powell in Catch Us If You Can

Author: pompeypop

University lecturer, longtime local musician and recently historian of popular music - especially in and around Portsmouth. My blog is entirely about that topic

4 thoughts on “Pompey in the Media

  1. From memory, there were quite a few of the Pompey ‘beats from The Dominoe Cafe, Somers Road, featured in this DC5 film. Dale Fletcher, the McGuigan Brothers. ‘Little Dave’ plus a load of others whose names I can’t recall. The Daily Mirror did a centre page feature on them at the time, depicting their involvement with Dave Clark. I kept this for years but probably it’s now sadly lost.

  2. The guy in the front is a drummer and his name is Alan. [I think] He and i used to be quite friendly but it was many years ago

  3. I think the drummer was Al Fraser. I met him at Highbury 1964.

  4. Thats it Alan Fraser

Leave a Reply

