POMPEY POP

Before the Swinging Sixties

1 Comment

I’m still working on these maps for the AAA Guildhall show – it’s nearly time to get some up I think

There will be a few, to preserve some clarity and I’m working on one which is essentially pre-1960s

Now I realise that pre-60s ‘hotspots’ like the Savoy, Pier, Ricky’s etc kept going afterwards (sometimes with name changes) but that’s OK. Essentially I’d like to create a map of Pompey from 1946-1959 when the Guildhall opened

I’m going to do a separate PUBS map and a separate SCHOOLS/YOUTH CLUBS one, so none on here – just clubs, theatres and ballrooms. I can’t do justice to everything and I know Mick will keep a careful eye on me, but just to kick things off how about:

Co-op (both?)

Empress B/room

Kimbells

King’s Theatre

Oddfellows

Ricky’s Club

Rock Gardens

Savoy

South Parade Pier

Theatre Royal

Author: pompeypop

University lecturer, longtime local musician and recently historian of popular music - especially in and around Portsmouth. My blog is entirely about that topic

One thought on “Before the Swinging Sixties

Leave a Reply

