POMPEY POP

A bit of rock – but not much

1 Comment

There’s generally been a hint of rock music in the stuff I play – albeit mostly in the sense of old blues/roots of rock – but never very much

My new band, rehearsing furiously, is just about the first one I’ve been in that is playing almost entirely covers which are all by white musicians and again only the occasional nod to rock. We’ve no bass player or drummer and mostly we’re doing songs that were similar originally – in other words not much ‘rock’

OK you say, so what? Where’s this going? Well I just received one of those Ancestry site emails and I checked the origins of ‘Allen’. It told me:

“English and Scottish: from a Celtic personal name of great antiquity and obscurity …  Various suggestions have been put forward regarding its origin; the most plausible is that it originally meant ‘little rock’. Compare Gaelic ailín, diminutive of ail ‘rock’ …”

So there we are: “antique, obscure and little rock”, just like the music I’ve always played. It was in my DNA all along. You see Spider Man, I never had a hope of liking the Deborah Bonham Band.

Author: pompeypop

University lecturer, longtime local musician and recently historian of popular music - especially in and around Portsmouth. My blog is entirely about that topic

One thought on “A bit of rock – but not much

  1. Roberts is a surname of pre 7th century Germanic origins, derived from the name “Hrodbeorht” – “hrod”, meaning renown, and “beorht”, bright or famous.

    So. Bright Renown, eh? The Norse saga the “Heimskringla” – an early derivative of the nursery rhyme “London Bridge is Falling Down” includes these words (my capitals…)

    “London Bridge is broken down.
    Gold is won, and BRIGHT RENOWN
    Shields resounding,
    War-horns sounding,
    Hild is shouting in the din!
    Arrows singing,
    Mail-coats ringing,
    Odin makes our Olaf win!”

    Sound a bit heavy rock to me, Dave….

    also…. Led Zeppelin’s biography is entitled “Hammer Of The Gods”), youve got ROBERT Plant fronting the band…..
    So maybe that’s why I like ’em (and The Deborah Bonham Band!) – and I’m the one who’s “Building a Stairway to Heaven”….. (“It’s heaven, Jim, but not as we know it“… )

Leave a Reply

