POMPEY POP

On the Road

5 Comments

On Friday evening, BBC4 did a show called “New Tales from the Tour Bus” about rock & roll life on the road. It was presented by Rick Wakeman which did not thrill me with anticipation. He’s a bit of a clown but I take it back. I really enjoyed it and I guess it’s still on Iplayer. It’s worth a look

Author: pompeypop

University lecturer, longtime local musician and recently historian of popular music - especially in and around Portsmouth. My blog is entirely about that topic

5 thoughts on “On the Road

  1. Your post spookily arrived as the credits rolled on my recorded version. Did you spot the reference to Frank Zappa playing at the Guildhall in the NME page about the Fairport crash.

  2. I’m always telling people there are no coincidences! It’s all meant to be. Cheers Philip – I missed it, but that cutting from the MM was SO familiar. I absolutely loved that early version of Fairport – a terrible tragedy.

    • Yes – MM, a much better paper than NME. It was good to see Neil Warnock – he was at NEMS then, as in the David Bowie contract at AAA.

      Random fact – did you know that Mick Fleetwood was born on Hayling Island.

  3. yes, I just thought of the 49 years we have been doin it on the road!! 50 years next year lol

Leave a Reply

