POMPEY POP

Talking of Cricket

3 Comments

Which you probably weren’t?

I’ve spent most of the past two weeks at cricket matches and I get to do bits of commentary on various stations including BBC Radio Solent. We get lots of correspondence (Twitter, email etc) often quite funny.

So yesterday – because we were playing Middlesex –  I was rabbiting about Fred Titmus of Middlesex playing at Pompey in 1961 (Pete Cross will remember …) and one of our ‘regulars’ sent in a reminder of this wonderful Half Man Half Biscuit tune. Unsurprisingly, the title was not read out on air!

http://wn.com/fuckin’_’ell_it’s_fred_titmus

Author: pompeypop

University lecturer, longtime local musician and recently historian of popular music - especially in and around Portsmouth. My blog is entirely about that topic

3 thoughts on “Talking of Cricket

  1. That’s right Dave ,I don’t think we were , but lets just see if anybody else gets near to the 355 in the next few days…….”regrets, I’ve had a few” etc…………………………………

  2. Did they read my tweet about people going to war from Pompey & on cruises from Southampton when Ken was discussing the differences?

  3. I don’t know Albie – while Ken was ‘on air’ I was similarly in the other Hospital Broadcast box. I’ll see if I can discover whether they did although Ken is now off on holiday for a couple of weeks

Leave a Reply

