POMPEY POP

Back in the UK

4 Comments

Regular and loyal Blogger Pete White from the USA but (until mid-70s) formerly of this parish came on a visit to AAA today. Here we are together with Mick. Couple more pix should follow. Pete’s son (still in Pompey) then took him down to Pie & Vinyl.

Pete W, Mick, Me

Pete White in Pompey 2

Author: pompeypop

University lecturer, longtime local musician and recently historian of popular music - especially in and around Portsmouth. My blog is entirely about that topic

4 thoughts on “Back in the UK

  1. Thanks for your great hospitality guys. What a really neat experience to see all the hard work you have put into AAA. Sorry it was just a flying visit on the way to Gatwick. Would have loved to have stayed and chatted more. I think had we joined Phil on his “Pub Break” we would probably still be there….. Anyway Dave and Mick and Phil it seemed as if we had known each other for a lifetime. Must be the the power and magic of the blog I guess. I was was thinking that how strange it was that as young kids we cobbled together bits and pieces we scrounged to make speaker cabinets and amps and here you are 50 years later doing the same thing in AAA. Must be the circle of life. The possibilities of AAA are endless. I am so glad and proud that you are preserving a record of the hopes and dreams of all those young kids. At least now there is a mark that Yes we were here. “Like Tattoos on this town”

  2. Y’ALL COME BACK NOW !!!……Y’HEAR A most pleasant interlude indeed my friend….Glad you enjoyed our celebration of what we had….Truth is of course, we don’t want it to go away , at least while we are still here to tell the tale(s)…..
    hope to see you again soon, you old blogger !!!!!

  3. It was a great but all too brief visit with you all. I really enjoyed it. My co-worker Jim who was with me was most impressed and my son Steve posted pics on his FB page telling all his mates to get on down there to see AAA. Sorry I missed meeting Nigel and the most eloquent Mr Cross but certainly you guys more than made up for it. My son told me afterwards that my face seemed to roll back the years as I chatted with you guys and looked at the pictures. Bloody shame all the wrinkles came back when I stepped outside. Must make an effort to get back over for vacation so I can spend a bit more time in there.

  4. Pete…….But that’s why we have the ‘pub break’……At the right time of day , those wrinkles mean sod all !!!!!

Leave a Reply

