POMPEY POP

West Best?

7 Comments

I’ve been in London this week watching my cricket team sinking very low so I’ve only just got to catch up with some Glastonbury TV stuff – noting that Malc was actually there.

I commented below that I knew nothing about Kanye West – well I do now because I’ve just watched his set. Apparently if he’s not Jesus he’s the world’s greatest rock star. I’m content with that generic definition because as you know I ain’t very interested in rock music – although I wouldn’t know whether he’s the greatest or not.

On the TV show immediately after him was the Mother Ship Returns with George Clinton, Parliament, Funkadelic Family Stone et al etc and hordes of people on stage – a band that’s possibly bigger than the Southsea Skiffle Orchestra

I thought they were the business. Fabulously fantastic and funky. I might send Deaf Threats for Kanye West but otherwise happy to resume my state of ignorance of him and his stuff.

Author: pompeypop

University lecturer, longtime local musician and recently historian of popular music - especially in and around Portsmouth. My blog is entirely about that topic

7 thoughts on “West Best?

  1. Saw George Clinton with Parliament, Funk at Hop Farm Festival in 2012 – ve was da bizzniss!!!!!!

  2. And got to sing happy birthday to the Dalai Lama. Forgot to mention that.

  3. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1FB_-23uw6E&sns=fb&app=desktop I think one of your nephews recently told you about these parodies.

  4. Indeed he did – lovely! I did find a rock band I really liked in the end, Patti Smith singing “Gloria”. Cracking!

  5. Best act at Glastonbury imho Watford’s finest The Staves

  6. Yes I mentioned them somewhere below Phil – quite beautiful. For a couple of minutes I thought they were the Cadbury Sisters who played at Victorious last year and are similar in sound and style

  7. Not heard of them Dave, i’ll check ’em out.

Leave a Reply

