POMPEY POP

How Long?

9 Comments

I’m watching a BBC4 programme about Frank Sinatra for whom (as a singer) I have considerable admiration.

It began by replaying a brief clip of his television obituary in which the newsreader observed that he had been on various stages for six decades.

Then it struck me that so have I, which means that some of you guys out there who started before me (eg my mates in the Renegades) have covered seven decades from the 1950s to the 2010s

Unless he meant sixty years not six decades? But if he did mean that why not say so?

Do you reckon we can keep going to the 2020s?

Author: pompeypop

University lecturer, longtime local musician and recently historian of popular music - especially in and around Portsmouth. My blog is entirely about that topic

9 thoughts on “How Long?

  1. I would like to go till 2020 but most of the Simon Dupree band think they are too old.

  2. Funny question! Bit like ‘ when shall I give up walking’. Answer….when my legs give out!

  3. Well that makes sense to me but not all the old timers believe it . Maybe you should pass the message to them Shulman brothers (and Eric)?

  4. Well thanks Dave you’ve just reminded me that I will be 73 and a half in 5 years time. I don’t believe that age should be a barrier to anything at all especially something we all love like playing music. If the music good I don’t reckon an audience care whether the performers are young or old.

  5. I was gigging on Saturday night and met up with a muso I used to know from my Bennetts days, he tells me he hasn’t played for about 2 years and feels the need to return to the scene. Great news say I but then he announces he feels self conscious about his age…..62 !! I told him I was 71 and it wasn’t going to stop me from playing and to hell with the piss takers. As you quite rightly say Malc, the audience couldn’t give a toss about age, as long as the music’s right, that’s all that matters
    Amen.

  6. The lovely frank. I must dig out my l.p. “the concert sinatra” ibought it in the 60s. ” I have dreamed” absolute gold. And don’t forget. The older we get-the better we were

Leave a Reply

