POMPEY POP

Etta Burger

3 Comments

with bacon, cheese and fries.

Then saw Etta Bond who, MRA and I decided was a bit like Lily Allen meets Massive Attack. Pretty cool

Etta Bond

Before her there was teenage rapper Isiah Dread. I don’t listen to rap at home but I always enjoy it at Festivals

Isiah Dreads

Nice lights too – hard edge psychedelia

Then watched Laura Mvula – she was really very good. The band included harp (no not harmonica, harp), violin, cello, double bass and a very fine drummer. Ms Mvula played keyboards on some stuff – heartfelt but very subtle too – rhythms were sometimes superb. What intrigued me too was enjoying three acts with not a guitarist in sight.

Laura Mvula

Earlier there had been some interesting things to see

Horse

But by 3pm it was raining and by 4.30 raining hard

Vict rain

So we came home for a cup of tea and watched Hampshire lose their televised T20 semi-final. I got a pass-out stamp to go back later but the rain’s washed it off, so maybe they won’t let me back. I thought festivals used those plastic bracelets these days but maybe it’s karma for all those nights I forged the Birdcage stamp!

Author: pompeypop

University lecturer, longtime local musician and recently historian of popular music - especially in and around Portsmouth. My blog is entirely about that topic

3 thoughts on “Etta Burger

  1. If you get a chance to return, The Flaming Lips are well worth a listen. I prefer their earlier stuff but they’re still good.

  2. Actually the forecast tonight (6.30) suggests this Festival/Bank Holiday is going much the way of the America’s Cup weekend. It’s rather sad.

  3. There was a return deadline of 8pm and it kept raining, so I didn’t go back. Try again tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

