POMPEY POP

Ry Cooder, Guitars, Captain Beefheart, Snare Drums

2 Comments

Interesting 15 mins of the lovely Ry Cooder which opens with the toughest task in showbiz – helping the original Magic Band to get organised!

(If I was ever to play in a tribute band – which is improbable – I’d call it Wry Cooder)

PS been alerted that link was a problem so I’ve changed it

I hope it works now

Author: pompeypop

University lecturer, longtime local musician and recently historian of popular music - especially in and around Portsmouth. My blog is entirely about that topic

2 thoughts on “Ry Cooder, Guitars, Captain Beefheart, Snare Drums

  1. When I was the vocalist for The Motherfolkers we played a gig at a beer festival at Pompey Guildhall. There was a;so a very good blues band playing called Parker’s Alibi. They had an excellent slide guitar player, who was Welsh. I told Ian Parker (whose band it was..) how impressed I was with the guy. He smiled (wRyly…) and said “Yeah, we call him Dai Cooder”….

  2. Just out of high school 17 years old and asked by Buddha records to organise Capt Beefheart!

Leave a Reply

