POMPEY POP

Just Got Back

2 Comments

Not from the Chicken Shack, but from the KIng’s Theatre where the Southsea Skiffle Orchestra did a rather lovely gig, our biggest yet, followed by the Bog Rolling Stones (as it says on the packet), the very fine Racketeers (favourites of Mr Greedy) and the Flix. fronted by three young ladies and playing Motown, Northern Soul, 60s pop etc

All very lively and raising money for the Tom Prince Cancer Trust – a quite delightful evening, Pompey at its finest.

Author: pompeypop

University lecturer, longtime local musician and recently historian of popular music - especially in and around Portsmouth. My blog is entirely about that topic

2 thoughts on “Just Got Back

  1. I’m glad it was a success. I wish I could’ve gone but I think the ankle still needs another week. The Racketeers are very good. That’s Mark Ballard’s band isn’t it ? He’s been to the Bullfrog ( in the audience) and showed a real interest in the blues. I’m watching BBC4 at the moment, a programme about psychedelic rock at the BBC ! There’s a real mixture of good and excruciatingly embarrassing footage. The Moody Blues are currently squeezing the life out of a song with sitarist etc. bring back Bessie Banks !! My next excursion is to Jools Holland. Nine Below Zero was cancelled.
    I stayed up to watch Tommy last night as I’ve never seen it before. What a crock of shite !! There was nothing about it worth getting excited about – except maybe spotting local landmarks !

  2. Cheers Oscar! Yes, Mark, once of Mr Greedy’s SKAW- I loved ’em. Recorded the Psycho prog but not watched yet. Nine BZ AND Dave Berry both cancelled now, hope you’ll be out and about soon. As for Tommy, my feelings exactly!

Leave a Reply

