POMPEY POP

Frank Kelly

7 Comments

What a delight to get a long and very interesting comment from the original Pompey rock & roller on the previous post. Thanks too, to Rod, for making the contact. Great memories from when I was very young indeed. Thanks Frank. Incidentally it must be a week for the Classics – saw Ian Duck on Weds evening and an hour or two earlier came home to find a present from Tony Ransley who has been over for a little while. I managed to miss him but it was very kind (cricket books since you’re asking)

Incidentally, Oscar will know/have this already but there’s a new book by Jon Savage called 1966: the Year the Decade ExplodedI’ve just started it and it seems a really good one. 12 Chapters, each linked to a 45rpm record of the year but exploring all sorts.

Author: pompeypop

University lecturer, longtime local musician and recently historian of popular music - especially in and around Portsmouth. My blog is entirely about that topic

7 thoughts on “Frank Kelly

  1. Needless to say, Dave, I have got it. The content does look good but I was rather disappointed with the comparative lack of good illustrations. There must be a host of photographs, cartoons etc. that could have been used. I’ve also got the accompanying cd which, like so many of the compilations of the music of the period, contains a lot of obscure tracks . Now, don’t get me wrong, I ‘m not averse to ‘obscure’ but sometimes it seems that some tracks have been picked purely to bolster the content !

  2. Talking of obscure records, does anyone remember ‘Que Sera’ by Daddy Long Legs from around 1962? They were a black vocal group (maybe two boys and a girl) and it was a really wild interpretation along the lines of The Isley Brothers’ ‘Shout, We used to love it ‘ but I can’t find any mention of it on the internet. I’m beginning to think I only imagined it or even if it was ‘Daddy Long Legs’ by Que Sera. Anyone help?

  3. This may help, although I can’t seem to get the actual clip pasted.

    LT

  4. Hmm….. produced by Bob Crewe of Four Seasons Songwriting fame?

  5. Certainly sounds something like it but I’m sure ‘Daddy Long Legs’ was in there somewhere – unless they changed their name for this release. It wasn’t a hit in the UK so I could try checking The Billboard Hot 100’s for ’61 to ’63. I remember there being a feature on them in The Record Mirror.

Leave a Reply

