POMPEY POP

I’m an Old Man

5 Comments

I used to tell people who asked me, that among all the many styles of music I loved, the BLUES was the most important.

But if I say that these days it either means nothing or it’s entirely misleading. I actually dislike quite considerably a lot of music that other people call the blues and I no longer know how to respond – I’m lost.

This is what I mean by the Blues

Author: pompeypop

University lecturer, longtime local musician and recently historian of popular music - especially in and around Portsmouth. My blog is entirely about that topic

5 thoughts on “I’m an Old Man

  1. Your post is a bit misleading too, Dave! I hope it means you LIKE Skip James!!!!!!!!!!

  2. OK JR, corrected. It’s not the only Blues I like of course but it is one of the most perfect examples

  3. Actually the same thing applies to R&B. Now as it happens I quite like some recent R&B – women singers with a kind of melodic take on Hip-Hop but it’s not much like the R&B I loved when I was 14 … Genre categories are often really weird. I was playing some old Mary Wells stuff the other day via ITunes (60s Motown) and the Genre showed as Hip-Hop.

  4. The most recent travesty is describing Sam Smith as a ‘soul singer’.

Leave a Reply

