POMPEY POP

Centenary Salute

10 Comments

Frank Sinatra was born 100 years ago today. I grew up in a house that didn’t have much popular music so by the time I encountered Sinatra and other older ‘greats’ like Ella, Sarah Vaughan, Louis Armstrong etc it was in the 60s which were not their glory years. Stuff like ‘My Way’ or ‘Wonderful World’ was crap then and it’s crap now, but fortunately I got to discover all the wonderful stuff they did and the older I get the more their recordings stand out for me. With Sinatra I do particularly love the early solo years on Columbia – sometimes on a song like “Sweet Lorraine” he is a fine jazz singer with a top band – other times as on this first one it’s more about the¬†orchestration. Beautiful.

http://www.bing.com/videos/search?q=Sinatra+Nancy+with+the+Laughing+Eyes&view=detail&mid=3E01ED49F6156B577E3D3E01ED49F6156B577E3D&FORM=VIRE1

http://www.bing.com/videos/search?q=Youtube+Sinatra+Sweet+Lorraine&view=detail&mid=4DFE81D4EBA9E05D364A4DFE81D4EBA9E05D364A&FORM=VIRE5

Author: pompeypop

University lecturer, longtime local musician and recently historian of popular music - especially in and around Portsmouth. My blog is entirely about that topic

10 thoughts on “Centenary Salute

  1. When 18/19 l met a French girl in Spain, fell in love, after a few visits to her home in Bagneux, Seine, Nichole came to Gosport, we bought a engagement ring and a Frank Sinatra LP. The title, Songs for Swinging Lovers which l recorded on reel to reel tape and gave her the LP. Emagine how l felt when her visit came to an end and her train pulled out of the station with I Thought About You going though my mind. Lyrics, I took a trip on a train and l thought about you,
    Walked down a shadowy lane and l really felt blue. Nice memories.

  2. I listened to a lot of that stuff and have still got some records from those days. Such artistry,both composers and musicians.

  3. Agree with what you say about Sinatra, Dave! He’s been a late discovery for me too. There’s one track from a very late album (one he was to disown) that I’ve been playing lately –

  4. Sorry – gave the wrong link – this is the track I meant:-

  5. Cheers Dave – interesting, very much of that late 60s kind of Jimmy Webb sound I guess? I think he was more correct in describing My Way as a “pain in the arse” – this one seems fine.

  6. All this talk about ‘Big Frank’……………I’d like to put this in the mix……………..One of the best , and it just oozes everything seasonal……………i think there may be a future for this gal !!! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VGtiLouJWuU

    • She was pure class Phil, everything a female “singist” should be, there ‘aint many of ’em left now….

      • Rod…..Better than a box of dates , try this……….current fave girl singist , the ‘Wonder of Womad ‘ this year for me …great band .great music and what a great looking girl…

        Sarah ,Ella ,Nina influences all over the place………………I think a class act herself…….any takers ???? worth a google in my opinion,,

      • Same goes for me guys – absolutely wonderful singer!

  7. Just saw a photo on Facebook with the following quotes: “To do is to be,” Nietzsche; “To be is to do,” Kant; “Do be do be do,” Sinatra.

Leave a Reply

