POMPEY POP

Just like the old days

4 Comments

My diary records cold and snow in this week 1966 and today at last this winter has caught up – not snow perhaps but it’s freezing huh?

So here we are on 14 January which 50 years ago was a Friday night. Last week I mentioned seeing the Action who appeared at the Birdcage 17 times, although only once in 1967 and that as a four-piece before they became Mighty Baby. On the 14th it was the only  act that appeared more frequently and that was of course Jimmy James & the Vagabonds, 29 times at the Birdcage – an average of almost precisely once a month during the two-and-a-half years it was open.

I don’t think you can argue that JJ&the Vags were a great British band longer term, but at that time they were a superb live soul band and I do think think their first album New Religion was the finest of all the British soul LPs – really good stuff. On release, it was the first time I’d ever heard the term ‘progressive’ applied to popular music although it’s certainly not ‘Prog’!  

It was six bob to get in and in the diary I’ve noted a “big fight with Southampton mushes”. I remember it pretty clearly – people running around all over the place. Preparing for this future career as archivist I stood back, watched and wrote it down. I’m a lover not a fighter as I’ve observed before.

Author: pompeypop

University lecturer, longtime local musician and recently historian of popular music - especially in and around Portsmouth. My blog is entirely about that topic

4 thoughts on “Just like the old days

  1. A fading memory suggests l attended a gig by the excellent Mighty Baby at Pompey Art College in the very early 70s Dave,.the thing is nobody else can remember it….maybe it was all a dream!!

  2. I’ll try to check but I think you are right Steve – Mighty Baby at the Art College sounds right to me

  3. Hi Dave
    You weren’t the only one keeping a diary in 1966 – unfortunately my attempt fizzled out not long after this entry.

    Saturday, Jan., 15th.
    Bought pair of brown shoes (49/11) and Jake bought a roll-neck sweater. Intended going to Shoreline Club (Caribbean Hotel), Bognor. Got p****d up and went with Jake, Reg, Bert, Duke, Rick by train. Not much good there. Wasn’t all-night. Hitched back (snowed!) and me and Duke got home at 3am and the others not until 6am. Got massive blisters on my feet.

    NB. ‘p****d up’ isn’t a euphemism for ‘pissed up’.

  4. Great stuff – keep them coming Graham! Never go to Bognor in new shoes?

Leave a Reply

