POMPEY POP

Back then …

Leave a comment

…in 1966 (with all my teeth).

I’ve missed some entries. On the last Saturday of January I picked up my new bespoke blue suit from Alexandre’s in Commercial Road and no doubt wore it to the Birdcage that night to see the Spencer Davis Group for the rather high charge of 10/-. Mind you they were (always) fabulous – I reckon the most underrated of the British R&B bands with the best singer.

Meanwhile Herbie Goins and organist Dave Davani were on BBC radio’s “Jazz Beat”, while during this week in 1966, I bought the Impressions’ “Meeting Over Yonder”. Incidentally, Herbie Goins was due at the Birdcage on Saturday 5 Feb – and for all you frustrated Pompey fans out there right now, wondering why they are incapable of preserving (or increasing) a 1-0 lead, let me tell you that 50 years ago this week was far, far, far worse…

Author: pompeypop

University lecturer, longtime local musician and recently historian of popular music - especially in and around Portsmouth. My blog is entirely about that topic

Leave a Reply

