POMPEY POP

Got to Laugh

5 Comments

I may have all my hair but my teeth are a nightmare. I blame all that harmonica playing

Anyway, I’ve got one right now at the back, aching like the blues. So I take another shot to ease the pain and ring the dentist this morning to fix a time to have the bastard removed. The nice lady offers me “Thursday ā€“Ā 2.30”

Yes it does.

Author: pompeypop

University lecturer, longtime local musician and recently historian of popular music - especially in and around Portsmouth. My blog is entirely about that topic

5 thoughts on “Got to Laugh

  1. Tooth Urty – Chinese dental appointment!!

  2. In the meantime, why not totally encase the tooth in a pro sensitive toothpaste ? A week ago I had the same problem, couldn’t get an appointment for 2 weeks, thought I’d try this little trick out, it’s 100% cured the pain. As you probably know (?) our gums start to shrink as we get older, the nerves get exposed, pain follows….

  3. Don’t blame the harmonica – I think it’s in the genes! You have my sympathy.

  4. Change your dentist. If I phone my dentist and say “I’m in pain, it’s an emergency!” an appointment is made immediately for midday-ish same day; after 5.00pm same day, or between 8.00 and 9 am the next morning. And mine is an NHS dentist. At the very least he’d do a temporary fix or an extraction – with another appointment a day or so later. It’s their job, it ‘s what they are paid for.

    I think you suffered from officious receptionist, who treated you as “bit of toothache, it can wait a day or so” and give you “first available” instead of an emergency appointment.

    Phone around – someone will fit you in today as an emergency. It’s what I would do after one more try at my own dentist – but being pushy was part of my job description (as a journalist I hasten to add) for nearly 30 years. šŸ™‚

  5. Maybe we could set up a ‘self-help/help each other’ solution. I know people who can supply delightful pain-killers and I’ve got some cotton and a door handle …

Leave a Reply

