POMPEY POP

Cartoon Monster?

2 Comments

My one time manager Mick Dillon’s looking happy while I’m about to burst out of my jacket and turn green (another from AW – cheers)

Mick Dillon & Dave

Meanwhile on this Saturday 50 years ago, I was late for school. Late for school? Saturday? That was the reality – weeks and weeks without Saturday Club or Saturday morning pictures and I probably ended up in detention.

Things got better after that, as I spent the afternoon in Commercial Road and purchased the Impressions’ “You’ve Been Cheating” then in the evening, went to Aunty Vi’s and the Birdcage to see the Small Faces, who I recall being very fine indeed. For those of you following the story of Jazz Beat on the Light Programme it was Dickie Pride (?) and John Mayall’s Bluesbreakers – presumably the magical Beano band.

Author: pompeypop

University lecturer, longtime local musician and recently historian of popular music - especially in and around Portsmouth. My blog is entirely about that topic

2 thoughts on “Cartoon Monster?

  1. Worthy of a caption methinks…. How about ” Damn… he just told me he had been taking 60% off the top I thought he told us 6″

Leave a Reply

