POMPEY POP

Time for Tea

1 Comment

The Teapots

Valentines Day was a Monday in 1966 and I had a rather busy day – I wish I had that energy now. After school there was the CCF – I was in the naval section. It was voluntary unless you didn’t want to join, in which case …

Some bits (camps, sailing etc) were quite fun but the uniforms and the marching were crap and in my case at least seemed only to have the entirely unintended effect. After that I went home, had a bath and went to an evening class at the Art College which I always loved. Then it was on to St Nick’s in Copnor to see the Teapots.

Now I’m afraid that according to my diary, I didn’t think highly of them. It would be another 18 months before I began playing regularly and seriously in local bands and I came to realise how tough it was out there. In the previous six weeks of 1966, I’d seen live, the Action, the Paramounts, the Vagabonds, Herbie Goins, the Alan Price Set, the Spencer Davis Group and the Small Faces, so the Teapots were just the latest live band and suffered by comparison. I see now that it wasn’t fair but back then it was much the same with, say, the Indigo Vat. I knew people that went there, but I couldn’t see the point. As a grammar school boy I was endlessly rebelling against the assumptions of class attached to my school – but as a music obsessive, I was a snobby bastard.

Sorry Teapots.

(And yes, if you’re asking, there were a couple of cards …)

Author: pompeypop

University lecturer, longtime local musician and recently historian of popular music - especially in and around Portsmouth. My blog is entirely about that topic

One thought on “Time for Tea

  1. Never saw the Teapots at a gig, though if you were in Copsey Grove Farlington on a Sunday afternoon in the mid 60’s you could hear them rehearse! They evolved into Wrong Direction who were pretty well known locally, they used to do a good version of the Beach Boys ‘you’re so good to me’ .

Leave a Reply

