POMPEY POP

Media Week

Leave a comment

In 1966 I was doing my ‘Mock’ ‘O’ Levels this week – with no great distinction – and it appears I stopped in a bit, probably pretending to revise. On Wednesday, the Animals were on Whole Scene Going (BBC TV) which I remember enjoying but I didn’t note watching it every week … hmm … On Thursday I thought it was worth celebrating a particularly large edition of the Melody Maker – I loved that ‘paper in the mid-60s for its mix of the genres.

As for February 2016, I’m listening to a bunch of jazz albums on my brand new record player which claims to do everything (tape, CD, USB, radio, fly to Gosport – you name it). It’s great fun to have my vinyl out – Duke Ellington, MJQ, Billie Holiday, lovely.

Author: pompeypop

University lecturer, longtime local musician and recently historian of popular music - especially in and around Portsmouth. My blog is entirely about that topic

Leave a Reply

