POMPEY POP

Taped

4 Comments

But not cheap:Grundig

I had a tape recorder back then but probably cheaper than that one.

50 years ago this week, the top soul records were “6-3-4-5-7-8-9”, “Uptight”, “I Got You, I Feel Good”, and an obscure one, “the Pain” by Darron Fletcher. Maybe I taped some of them. Meanwhile lots of groups at the top of the charts: Walker Bros, Hollies, Small Faces, Beach Boys and Yardbirds.

The highest new entry was “Elusive Butterfly” by Bob Lind. Next highest was Val Doonican’s “Elusive Butterfly”.

At the Birdcage this weekend in 1966 were the Nocturnal (?) on Friday and the In Crowd (again) on Saturday. I gave it a miss again and went to a party instead.

Pompey drew 0-0 at Leyton Orient – must have been thrilling.

Author: pompeypop

University lecturer, longtime local musician and recently historian of popular music - especially in and around Portsmouth. My blog is entirely about that topic

4 thoughts on “Taped

  1. Mine was a Westminster Elizabethan – blue and cream case. I still recall it with great pleasure….. I remember taping The Four Tops off the T.V. in 1964 and getting a bit tightlipped because my Nan was talking…..

    • Must have been a Room Full of Gloom with Nan apologising, “Sorry John*, I Can’t Help Myself …”

      *AKA Sugar Pie, Honey Bunch

      • great scenario Dave ,however of course , not in ’64 , as (the four aims) The Four Tops records of that particular year were
        to the best of my knowledge………………..
        Where you are
        Without the one you love
        Ask the Lonely
        Baby I Need Your Loving
        ………. they couldn’t help themselves in 1965……………………….Back now to being “Keeper Of The Castle”and doing a bit of tidyup enjoying an album called ‘Forgotten R&B Hits’ ,with offerings from likes of
        Elvin Bishop / Lonnie Brooks / Robert Parker / Johhny Otis , and at the end a song called ‘Last Night’ , which I’m lovin a lot , by a bus load of guys from Chicago called The Mellow Fellows…………………….Sunday Sunday

  2. top piece of machinery , the Grundig ………..Not cheap ,but microphone included (big round thing if I remember)..My dad bought one for the family , I think it came from that bargain shop called ‘Progressive’ in Eastney road…………I remember rushing home from school and recording all those ‘live’ Pop Go the Beatles on it from t’radio…………

Leave a Reply

