POMPEY POP

Next?

13 Comments

After the Skiffle (below) I’m on to my next Orchestral project

NME 9 49.JPG

This is the original version of the NME, published on the precise day that my old lightshow buddy Martin Richman was born, 9 September 1949 (and just a few days before Mr Mook appeared) 

PS: the central photo shows Tito Burns at Ventnor – the first IOW Festival perhaps?

Author: pompeypop

University lecturer, longtime local musician and recently historian of popular music - especially in and around Portsmouth. My blog is entirely about that topic

13 thoughts on “Next?

  1. I was biding my time!

  2. I know what you mean. It is hard to resist.

  3. I have a photo of Elfie looking as though she’s conducting the orchestra.

  4. Would have been having 77th birthday today……………………….Mary Isabel Catherine Bernadette Obrien O B E
    I think she must have been awarded it for using so many words in her name…………………….I personally prefer her pseudonym when doing b/vs Gladys Thong.. !!!!!! This accolade goes of course to Britains ‘ Miss Motown ‘ of the sixties Dusty Springfield
    And a rare moment indeed from an episode of her t v show “It must be dusty” (sounds like my bedroom !!!!) A duet with Jimi ……good on ya girl !!!! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=anU9qls7ZII

  5. Thanks for that one Phil. Always liked Dusty and she holds her own in that jumble of sound. Thank you Dave for the Musical Express pic. Looking close I notice it Incorporates “The Accordion Times” . Boy that conjures up visions of squeeze box playing people eagerly awaiting each issue. Did they really have that many that it would support such a publication? Thinking back I recall I knew at least 2 kids at school that played one and I guess it would have been good training for the future guitar players. Any of our bloggers experts?

  6. I still have a little hohner accordion that I pestered my parents to buy when I was probably just a teenager, from Leslies in Fratton Road , so as I could get a bit closer to ‘Butch’ Moss’s sister Theresa, as she played a big one…(I suppose I should rephrase that)…
    She was, in my mind ..my first girlfriend…..I was probably thinking we could make sweet music…..!!!!.

  7. We have a accordion in the Skiffle Orchestra. Brian is really a guitarist but we’ve so many he plays the accordion. Always wonderful in Cajun and Zydeco of course. I guess pre big amps it was handy in making lots of noise.

  8. well, it proved not to be much of an advantage in getting your leg over !!!

  9. NATIONAL RECORD STORE DAY………………………………
    Celebrating the vinyl revolution and a shout out for all our independent record stores , I just got back from shopping , but I had to spend my pennies in Tesco……Vinyl Rools o.k.

  10. I’m not going to deliberately mention the c word , but here we are on a sunny sunday…..willow /leather etc…..did you go to
    YORKSHIRE ,PUDDING ???? ( sorry about that)

  11. Hah! Not this year Phil. I went last year but stopped at home this year

  12. My first instrument was accordion (why would I admit that?).
    Also, when I was at school I used to read the only magazine I could find about guitars: the Banjo, Mandolin and Guitar Monthly. If you took out a subscription you were entitled to put the letters BMG after your name.

  13. From the would have been if he hadn’t died birthday wishes………born today in 1928 ,and never eve dreamed of the 5 oclock club as a youngster……………………..ALEXIS KORNER…….
    AND ….probably sharing today with his Amazing Dancing Bear or maybe visiting a house in New Orleans
    Alan Price @ 74……………….

Leave a Reply

