POMPEY POP

How Unique?

7 Comments

I guess we all know that ‘unique’ is not a comparative term. It either is or it isn’t

So I’ve been asked if I would talk at an event/conference etc at the Guildhall. There is a very long title including some bits I just don’t understand (I have asked for clarification) but one bit describes “Portsmouth’s unique musical influences”.

As far as I’m aware, this is not necessarily an event exclusively about pop or even popular music but I keep thinking about that phrase. I reckon you know that I’m pretty proud of being from Pompey and I’ve done my bit to tell the world about us …

But “unique musical influences”?

As Sonny Boy Williamson once begged: “You gotta help me, I can’t do it all by myself”

 

Author: pompeypop

University lecturer, longtime local musician and recently historian of popular music - especially in and around Portsmouth. My blog is entirely about that topic

7 thoughts on “How Unique?

  1. Incidentally Sonny Boy, a philosopher to rank with Wittgenstein or Sartre but a better ‘harp’ player, also observed once that ‘there’s a whole lots of people talking; but a mighty few people know”.

  2. I have protested and been shouted down over ‘very unique’, etc. There is an interesting section here http://www.quickanddirtytips.com/education/grammar/modifying-absolutes. I’m afraid it’s not going to help you with your talk, though.

  3. Well i don’t know about anybody else , but i feel pretty unique most of the time……
    Oh and as there appeared to be no answers to my sunny sunday connections quizzzz (which i believe to be unique)… Keith Mansfield penned an instrumental called FUNKY FANFARE ,which TARANTINO used in his films Kill Bill, and THE JAMES ROYAL SET added the words and came up with “House of Jack” , which I thought was pretty good at the time ….. Thanks Paul Carrack , for providing great ‘house sounds’ for bank holiday Monday ://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uJptmaZIMjg

  4. I see. I thought it was that Royal with Cheese thing the gangsters talk about! So, is that Pompey’s “unique influence’ huh?

  5. ……? ? ? ? ?……

Leave a Reply

