POMPEY POP

Fifty Years Ago Today

2 Comments

I was strolling through Buckland in my Birdcage finery and minding my own business when this huge hulking brute shouted across the road “Oi, you poofter, f**k off back to Sarfseee”

Quick as a flash I replied “I don’t believe you” and legged it

I thought the incident might go down in history, but it seems to have been forgotten.

Author: pompeypop

University lecturer, longtime local musician and recently historian of popular music - especially in and around Portsmouth. My blog is entirely about that topic

2 thoughts on “Fifty Years Ago Today

  1. Oi!— yoo sayin` I can`t speek properlee now????

  2. Dave, I had a daily experience of that when at school. Having to ride my bike through what is now Somerstown with my straw boater on my head certainly attracted plenty of expletives !! After a while I was accepted, probably because a lot of my mates lives around the Somers Road area, and it became acceptable to just put up with the ‘stop me and buy one ‘ taunts.
    When I was at Highbury Technical College the majority of day release students were rockers and also older than us. One of them suggested that he would ” smash me into a thousand fragments” if I looked at the girl he fancied ! As it happened, the girl in question saw me as a little boy lost and we dated for a while !!
    We used to wear our ‘Birdcage ‘ suits to college and it certainly paid dividends !!

Leave a Reply

