POMPEY POP

So

16 Comments

It seems I’m alone in any views on recent ‘BOB’. Anyway I’ll stop grumbling and wish him a Happy 75th Birthday today. On Friday I’ve a gig with Scarlet Town at the Winchester Arms somewhere in the depths of Copnor where I shall sing one or two of his old songs. It’s a weekend beer festival and we’re on at 9pm after a punk band. It’ll be interesting to see what they make of acoustic guitar, flute/clarinet, violin and dobro …

Stuff about Scarlet Town: 

https://scarlettownuk.wordpress.com/

 

Author: pompeypop

University lecturer, longtime local musician and recently historian of popular music - especially in and around Portsmouth. My blog is entirely about that topic

16 thoughts on “So

  1. Not Gordon Sutton’s Punk Pixies!!

  2. Well Dave I did have some thoughts about your last post but have not had time to type them. All the best

  3. While we are talking about Bob…………………….Fifty years ago , I visited Minns and bought my Selmer t&b 50 amp for the p.a. for the princely sum of…….701 bobs of the day…………..Bank holiday gigs from my diary show as
    Broome Park School in Gosport…..27th
    Bottle in the wall…..28th……(???? can that be the vat, or somewhere else like Bournemouth ??)
    Shoreline…Bognor…..29th…..(late night / early morning fun)
    Parlour……30th
    knackered I guess

    • just a quick correction , cos I forgot how much a guinea pig was worth……..21/-
      therefore I must have parted with 735 bobs………………..35 gns……………well that’s ‘o’ level maths for you !!!!

  4. I had a Selmer PA in Rosemary Phil – metal amp. I guess that firm went long ago?

  5. seems that in todays world , one of those T&B Amps could be yours for at least £250…..crikey !!!!

    • Even more crikey than before…..One of the croc skin covered versions that I had is on ebay for ….wait for it !!!!! £690.00
      Well you cant beat that valve amp sound I guess My gast is flabbered !!!!

  6. I have a vague memory that Alvin Lee (10 Years After) had a stereo Selmer for his guitar (???)

  7. I was trying to remember the name of that box shaped amp unit only, covered in perforated zinc ?

  8. Rodders……….I think I got one of those perforated metal covered units from that ’emporium’ of things electrical ….Barkers ?? (opposite The Fawcett Inn……………Mine was gold coloured , and was it called a’Dynacord’..????
    For today ,and with a Bob connection……Would have been 75 ,born this day in 1941 and drummer with The Hawks (bobs backing band) ,known to us of course in later life as The Band………………

    • LEVON HELM……..(apparently I forgot to include this in the above post )

    • No Phil, Dynacord produced very up market PA equipment, it used to cost the proverbial arm and leg !
      This unit was definitely “down market” but had a sensational tremolo built in for that Duane Eddy sound (I was a guitarist of sorts then). They could have been made in gold, my was definitely zinc finish. Barkers in Fawcett Road, now there’s an emporium of electrical goodies……

  9. back again , and I think the name I was looking for was…..LINEAR CONCHORD…….type it into google and check out ‘images’ Rod ….
    Oh how I cried !!!!!

  10. warm up those EL34 valves and get that ‘sound’ back today……..Theres a linear conchord on ebay for £200……

  11. Methinks those bottles are still used today ??…bugger, where did I get that word from ??….bottles, not bugger !!

Leave a Reply

