POMPEY POP

Did You Buy It?

4 Comments

 

Thanks to Phil who spotted that yesterday was the 50th anniversary of the release of Revolver. The track “Tomorrow Never Knows” was the sign of some things to come – and things which I found very interesting. Despite Ringo’s contribution this was surely the Beatles’ finest album?

Author: pompeypop

University lecturer, longtime local musician and recently historian of popular music - especially in and around Portsmouth. My blog is entirely about that topic

4 thoughts on “Did You Buy It?

  1. My answer back then is no, although I have it now.

  2. I had just turned 14, bought it on release, and well on the way to the adventures that would lie ahead.

    The Red Door Club, the Brook Club, gigs at Manor Court, St Margarets….we were on the magic bus of yoof.

  3. No Sir not me. Thinking back I have never owned a Beatles record not even their first LP although the girl next door had a copy of that and we used to listen to it. I did buy the sheet music to Please Please Me though. And of course we got stuck playing those early songs to screaming schoolgirls at St Edmunds and other places like every other band at the time..

  4. Hello Hello Hello Is there anybody out there??? I gues everyone is off listening to their Beatle records.

Leave a Reply

