POMPEY POP

It’s a Beautiful Day

Leave a comment

It doesn’t take much to wake my inner hippy

This young man busks in Palmerston Road; his name is Charles and he sounds like those great guitar players from the late 1960s West Coast

IMG_5573

We had a brief chat and he told me that he particularly loves the music of It’s a Beautiful Day. He was a bit surprised to learn that they played in Pompey a few years back (courtesy of the Spider Man) and enjoyed supper served at our place by MRA

He told me he’s in a band that are on Facebook. I thought he said they were called the Mudlarks – a good Pompey name – but I can’t find them there. I found an American band with that name but much older. I’ll look out for him again and check it out.

PS ‘Fossy’ found it (cheers):

https://www.facebook.com/vanillaguerillamusic/?fref=ts

Author: pompeypop

University lecturer, longtime local musician and recently historian of popular music - especially in and around Portsmouth. My blog is entirely about that topic

Leave a Reply

