POMPEY POP

A Change Gonna Come

4 Comments

On this weekend in 1966 the Move played  the Birdcage during their summer ‘residency’. They were pretty exciting and while they did some soul stuff by Gladys Knight, Bobby Parker etc, they were on the edge of that English experimental sound that became ‘psychedelic’. Their live show was fine.

Also, at the Roundhouse, Pink Floyd and Soft Machine entertained ‘swinging London’ (on acid?) at the launch party for International Times. Some kind of counter-culture was beginning (shop counter?)

As it happens today is also the birthday anniversary of two of my old-time favourites Gus Cannon (“Walk Right In”) and Victoria Spivey. Here’s the glamorous Victoria on a European tour in 1963 with Lonnie Johnson (guitar) and Sonny Boy W on harmonica – and despite Lonnie, it ain’t “TB Blues”

http://www.bing.com/videos/search?q=YouTube+Victoria+Spivey&&view=detail&mid=8161F1B87FC068B953F48161F1B87FC068B953F4&FORM=VRDGAR

Author: pompeypop

University lecturer, longtime local musician and recently historian of popular music - especially in and around Portsmouth. My blog is entirely about that topic

4 thoughts on “A Change Gonna Come

  1. Excellent stuff! Thanks for that Dave.

    The harp player is actually Sonny Boy Williamson, not Howlin’ Wolf. I recognise him because we (The Dynamos – Alf Pink, Terry Bragg, myself and possibly Don Golding) supported him at the Agincourt Ballroom Camberley back in 1964 (..ish!). He was over here doing gigs, as the ‘british blues craze’ was at its height.

  2. Cheers MT. You got in very quickly there, I’m not sure what was on my mind when I wrote HW and as I spotted my mistake immediately and changed it, the wrong name was only up there for about one minute. If anyone is reading this and feeling confused. Marc must have read it the minute it went live, as I was correcting it. The recording is from one of those Folk Festival of the Blues tours – here in Germany but it also came to the UK. On that tour Lonnie Johnson played and recorded a beautiful blues called “Too Late to Cry” which mark once tried to teach me to play. He was very patient, but in the end as a guitar player I’d have to say I sang it OK!

  3. I think I was at The Move gig you mention, Dave. I was a bit disappointed with their light show, but impressed by the way they kept changing roles. The drummer might suddenly swop with the vocalist while the bass and lead guitars would change hands. Roy Wood was particularly versatile. It was a bit like the ways in which players of the Total Football Ajax and Holland sides of the early 70s abandoned their set positions.

  4. Nice analogy! I cannot remember the lights but I do recall the shifting about. The drummer (Bev Bevan?) had a very deep voice and sang one of the old show tunes I think.

Leave a Reply

