POMPEY POP

Flower Power

4 Comments

I don’t get out much these days, especially in the evenings. Apart from the Victorious Festival, the last live gig I went to was Joe Jackson (excellent) at the Theatre Royal. I was back at the Theatre last night with a special treat for My Resident Astrologer, to see one of her favourites – Monty Don.

Not the usual kind of gig then but he was delightful – I certainly enjoyed it more than Black Sabbath at the Poly (1970?)

IMG_4947.jpg

Sometimes she gets lost in her garden

Author: pompeypop

University lecturer, longtime local musician and recently historian of popular music - especially in and around Portsmouth. My blog is entirely about that topic

4 thoughts on “Flower Power

  1. Well Dave as they say “Life ain’t always a bed of roses” which by the way look very nice.

  2. Black Sabbath at the Poly,yes Dave it was 1970,l remember a friend of mine getting attacked by a drug sniffing doggie..frightened the poor chap to death..

    • Hah, cheers Steve. I went cos my pal Phil Jones was playing sax with support band – Image I’m sure. I hated Sabbath. I really did think that if that was the future of popular music, it was the end for me! Up to then I’d quite like ‘rock’ – Cream, Hendrix etc but oh boy! I guess I’d already taken whatever I was taking so the dogs left me alone.

  3. Great support band that night …eh !!!!!

Leave a Reply

