POMPEY POP

You Don’t Know …

6 Comments

… Like I Know

Although AW got close. The answer is indeed the Portsmouth Sinfonia and the man is Portsmouth’s Blacksmith PETE CLUTTERBUCK who built the Bandstand on Southsea Seafront

I found this in the Archives at the University – it’s a page from the Evening News in 1972 and here’s a couple more photos

ports-sinfonia

ports-sinfonia-2

Author: pompeypop

University lecturer, longtime local musician and recently historian of popular music - especially in and around Portsmouth. My blog is entirely about that topic

6 thoughts on “You Don’t Know …

  1. Wow, nostalgia at its height! Philip Austin and the three girls were on the foundation course with me. I must send a link to Sharon. She sometimes talks about Portsmouth Sinfonia and will love to see these photos.

  2. I’m wondering about the date, though. We were on foundation from 1970 to 1971. I remember Phil went to Sheffield to do his degree, and he would have started in autumn 1971.

  3. Sharon here…….. I’ve just been transported back to those happy days. When PS was being formed & Ivan & Dave (I think it was) were looking for people to join, I said I couldn’t play an instrument. However, I did consider offering my services on the recorder (& thought better of it).

Leave a Reply

