POMPEY POP

Forever Changes?

4 Comments

Here’s a different, more bohemian trio, more ‘folky’ to begin with but then moving into the Birdcage mod territory which back then (’65/’66) was always more varied and imaginative than it is often characterised today:

Isherwood & Wenham.jpg

The Railway ‘Ballads & Blues’ Folk Club, early 1960s. Ted Wenham singing, Jon Isherwood on guitar and a harmonica player hiding (maybe Frank Hurlock?)

Rod Queens Hotel.jpg

‘Banjo’ Stewart, embryonic mod playing some tune by some ‘good old boys’ perhaps?

tom-jim-bob-d-1966

1965? Maybe 1966? Looking cool. Tom (left) played harmonica in the Dave Clark movie Catch Us If You Can, and Jim (centre) was once a Hot Rod drummer. I know the boys (on right Bob Dunford), but not the girls (anyone?) I think I’ve asked before

Author: pompeypop

University lecturer, longtime local musician and recently historian of popular music - especially in and around Portsmouth. My blog is entirely about that topic

4 thoughts on “Forever Changes?

  1. you don’t often see a left handed string bass player!

  2. Definitely Frank , he was married to my mum May Bartlett from about 1968 until their divorce , great Jazz record collection, also gave me the LP Pearl by Janis Joplin

    • Many thanks. I recall his record store above Orpheus in Marmion Road with all those old 78s. He found a cardboard sleeve from my grandfather’s shop in Granada Road (early 1930s) and gave it to me. Very kind – and still framed on my wall

Leave a Reply

