POMPEY POP

Back in ’63

4 Comments

I don’t think I’ve ever posted this before. It’s one of the great rock & roll films – not exactly a ‘movie’, although it was made by Kenneth Anger who had links with Hollywood (Hollywood Babylon etc), as well as Black Magic and Jagger’s Performance a few years later.

This is the only full version I found on Youtube – is it Russian? Whatever, it doesn’t affect the film, although I’m pretty sure it’s 1963 not 1964. I’ve just been writing about it in my new book as “half-an-hour of gay ‘biker’, rock & roll montage magic”.

Not quite Bert’s Café Colin?

Mr Wood sent this – I hope you can read it

20170129_130954_resized

Author: pompeypop

University lecturer, longtime local musician and recently historian of popular music - especially in and around Portsmouth. My blog is entirely about that topic

4 thoughts on “Back in ’63

  1. Changing the subject slightly Dave ,did you ever see the great late 80’s band –
    Gaye Bykers On Acid

  2. Fits nicely Mr G – I heard about them but never did sadly.

  3. Berts (Kaff ) that was the place to be at lunchtime when I was at school. Spend the dinner money on a hot dog and listen to Little Richard on the juke box.

Leave a Reply

