POMPEY POP

Q is for Quiz

2 Comments

But nobody answered:

Which movie, situated in the very late 1950s, used the verb ‘to alphabetise’ between a young married couple, about his record collection and her tendency to put stuff back in the wrong place? A James Brown album featured

The answer is Diner – another movie I’m very fond of. The young woman who can’t ‘alphabetise’ is Beth played by Ellen Barkin who also does that very sexy number in The Big Easy

So, that’s D for Diner

And Dixon

Dixon of Dock Green

And Dick Head (I did actually teach a kid once called Richard Head)

Blair.jpg

 

Author: pompeypop

University lecturer, longtime local musician and recently historian of popular music - especially in and around Portsmouth. My blog is entirely about that topic

2 thoughts on “Q is for Quiz

  1. and E for….”EVENINALL”

  2. Shrevie pulls out a Little Richard record

    Shrevie: Ok, now ask me what’s on the flip side.
    Beth: Why?
    Shrevie: Just, just ask me what’s on the flip side, OK?
    Beth: What is on the flip side?
    Shrevie: ‘Hey, Hey, Hey’, 1958. Specialty Records.
    [Beth nods blankly]
    Shrevie: See? You don’t ask me things like that, do you? No! You never ask me what’s on the flip side.
    Beth: No! Because I don’t give a shit. Shrevie, who cares about what’s on the flip side of the record?
    Shrevie: I do! Every one of my records means something! The label, the producer, the year it was made. Who was copying whose style… who’s expanding on that, don’t you understand? When I listen to my records they take me back to certain points in my life, OK? Just don’t touch my records, ever! You! The first time I met you? Modell’s sister’s high school graduation party, right? 1955. And ‘Ain’t That A Shame’ was playing when I walked into the door!

    He tells his mates, and one of them explains the problem: “You’re dealing with a rational girl” …

Leave a Reply

