POMPEY POP

Top of the Pops!

4 Comments

End of March and the first week of April 1967:

The Walker Brothers started a national tour with the Jimi Hendrix Experience, Birdcage regulars the Move released “I Can Hear the Grass Grow”, the first Electric Prunes album appeared, Paul McCartney took a ‘trip’ to San Francisco, and on Saturday night – April Fools Day – it would cost you 7/6d to see the return of the original Pink Floyd to the Birdcage.

All pretty groovy huh?

And to confirm that, the Melody Maker cut its chart to a Top 30 to deter chart fixing – and boy was that a far-out chart, especially the Top Ten: 1: Englebert “Release Me”; 2: Harry Secombe “This Is My Song”; 3: Alan Price “Simon Smith & …”; 4: F&N Sinatra “Something Stupid”; 5: Vince Hill “Edelweiss”;  6: Whistling Jack Smith “Kaiser Bill’s Batman”; 7: Sandie Shaw “Puppet on a String”; 8: Petula Clark “This is my Song”;

Cool huh? You can see why they called it the Swinging Sixties, and I’m almost sorry to reveal that at number nine came the Beatles with “Penny Lane”/”Strawberry Fields” but at least number 10 was Val Doonican with “Memories Are Made of This”

Ain’t that the truth?

None of that funky black music either.

Author: pompeypop

University lecturer, longtime local musician and recently historian of popular music - especially in and around Portsmouth. My blog is entirely about that topic

4 thoughts on “Top of the Pops!

  1. Almost identical to our playlist !!

  2. Geez, Looks like the music industry was having an identity crisis. Very strange mix. As the band Wild Cherry sang “You got to Play that funky music White boy… Get down and boogie and play that funky music till you die”

    • Not your sort of music Pete, too many chords ?
      The only way to make yourself the complete musician (that’s if you you wanted to) is to listen and learn from everything , and I mean everything. Every tune that was ever written is relevant no matter how sh…y it is to your ears. All those cringeworthy 60’s tunes had something in them that would be useful to use at a later date, even a 2 chord change at a particular part of a song. Please don’t think you have to absorb Val Loonycan’s Greatest Hits, listen, learn and the rest will fall into place.
      There endeth yet another of my sermons for today !
      PS Do you still iron creases in your jeans ?

      • I don’t believe I commented on the content of the songs young Rodney, just on the fact that it was a very diverse range of material. I think it’s probably a pivotal time where the charts were about to change and be full of “young Peoples Music” Similar maybe to the chart mix about the time the Beatles first hit the charts. Dr.Dave probably can validate that was a similar mix about that time. Mind you I think the English charts always did have room for a novelty record or two. Never aspired to be a complete musician…Never was impressed with my own abilities however I have made a considerable amount of money over the years playing some really interesting material chord wise but I must confess that in those instances I played bass and sang and let the keyboard player have the challenges. Can’t really say I ever heard a song that I detested except maybe for some of the Rap music but that is probably because I can’t connect to it. Except for Sir Mixalot (We like ugly women) Time to get out there and inspire some of these young kids to play and share that talent you have Rod. I know that getting involved with music at a young age kept me and many others out of trouble back then.

        P.S. Funny they used to sell a brand of jeans that came with creases over in the UK. I had a few pair. Never seen them here. But then I only own one pair and that is for if I travel to cold places and maybe once or twice a year here . Otherwise casual wear is shorts and T shirt pretty much all year

Leave a Reply

