POMPEY POP

One thing that drives me nuts …

9 Comments

Is the way that “surreal’ has slipped into the everyday vocabulary for anything very slightly unusual. Sports people use it all the time – “getting a first team place? Surreal”

It’s not

At least it’s not, unless they mean by that it will lead them to live according to their dreams, plus a constant juxtaposition of unexpected objects (lobster:telephone), an opening of the prisons to free all criminals, disbanding the army, the wanton abuse of all things to do with the Catholic Church, and uninhibited sex with anyone and anything when the mood takes them (etc).

It’s probably not what they mean

However, on BBC4 this evening at 10.30pm you can catch one of the great achievements of Surrealism, the film Un Chien Andalou by Luis Bunuel and Salvador Dali. If you’ve never seen it, do try – and on no account miss the start, which is the sharpest opening in cinema history.

(Incidentally if you’re a dog lover, I’m afraid there’s not much about any Andalusian dogs)

 

Author: pompeypop

University lecturer, longtime local musician and recently historian of popular music - especially in and around Portsmouth. My blog is entirely about that topic

9 thoughts on “One thing that drives me nuts …

  1. Hmmm…….surreal!

  2. If you pop round mine for a cuppa, you can see ‘Un Dave And A Lou’ most days.

  3. Bring a sick bag! When I was at art college, all students were made to watch this film. I preferred Meshes in the Afternoon.

  4. This site’s getting a bit intellectual for me, come on now Dave, musos don’t use words like juxtaposition do they ??

  5. Almost as bad, surely, is when reporters ( trying to be hip ) use such phrases as – “he/she is like (usually some unheard of celeb) – on steroids, speed or acid” – conveys absolutely nothing to me, apart from its irrelevance.

  6. What a wonderful film… I’ve had it on video for a while – I bought a rip off on DVD on E bay. Another great surreal film to my mind (which is pretty surreal anyway) is “Eraserhead” . LOVE that film. I watched Frank Zappa’s “200 Motels” last night, which I would say almost comes into that category. ” I buy/acquire too many DVD’s.. my current favourite is “Bukowski – Born Into This” – a film by John Dullaghan about the late great Charles Bukowski. Here’s a trailer -although the whole film is on youtube if you care to search… https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Hu62kQha8hs

  7. Calling Mr.Cross…Calling Mr.Cross Your Commentary is required plus a bit of translation. Mmh I seem to recall there were a few songs that used the word surreal as well.

Leave a Reply

