POMPEY POP

Manchester

3 Comments

I’m not sure if it makes sense to post stuff on here about that horror, but seeing those young kids, it struck me that 54 years ago I went on my own to my first ‘pop’ concert at Pompey Guildhall. I walked there and back (from around Devonshire Square) and saw the Chris Montez, Tommy Roe, Beatles show, with not one thought about my safety or security – it simply never occurred to me or my folks that there might be anything untoward in doing that, and it’s led to this lifetime of the most enormous pleasure; a quite wonderful life immersed in music.

So today, 54 years later, I’m off to that same Guildhall for this month’s lunchtime gig for the Southsea Skiffle Orchestra.

Some of those kids, already touched by the magic of music, might have looked forward to the same excitement through their lives.

Author: pompeypop

University lecturer, longtime local musician and recently historian of popular music - especially in and around Portsmouth. My blog is entirely about that topic

3 thoughts on “Manchester

  1. Well said Dave. It really is heartbreaking news this morning.

    I was only thinking about how I would sometimes queue through the night, outside the Guildhall Box Office, for such tickets. My dad would come and see me around 5 am, on his way to the fruit and veg market in old Charlotte Street, but it was never out of worry, more likely to bring me a cold slice of cheese on toast and flask of tea.
    Nowadays, I’m even worried about my youngest daughter going on an organised trip to London for the day.

    What a sadly different world.

  2. Well said Dave, and Graham. Being 5 hours behind you over here I watched it unfold with live updates on the BBC web and Sky News. When I think of how we roamed through the city at night as kids and the freedom we had from fear I realize that our grandchildren will never know that innocence. So very proud of the way the citizens of Manchester came forward to help last night. Yes it is indeed a different world but life and the music must go on otherwise the evil will win.

  3. “This world’s too full of weeping for us to understand……. ” https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vOzbqY1ABwQ

Leave a Reply

