POMPEY POP

My Regular Topic

5 Comments

Might be ’67 but today it’s 76

Because it’s Charlie Watts’ 76th birthday

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I reckon Charlie’s a cracker – he’s the only really famous rock & roller I’ve ever met – it was pretty brief, but he was delightful. More than that, however, I love his drumming. I don’t know much about drumming (but I know what I like) and from the mid ’60s guys’ I generally prefer those with some jazz credentials like Charlie, Mitch Mitchell, Chicken Hirsch of Country Joe & the Fish** (etc), to the beat, big beat and MONSTER beat guys.

So Happy Birthday Charlie.

** Who was the guy with glasses who played with Brian Auger Trinity and Jeff Beck?

Author: pompeypop

University lecturer, longtime local musician and recently historian of popular music - especially in and around Portsmouth. My blog is entirely about that topic

5 thoughts on “My Regular Topic

  1. Rate Mitch Mitchell appeared with him when he was with Georgie Flame and again with Jimi Hendrix. Never seen Charlie live but he appears very basic on their recordings. Favourite pop drummers are Clem Burke of Blondie and going way back the drummer in Adam Faith’s backing band Bobby Henrit of the Roulettes.

  2. Clem Cattini sits in there somewhere as i remember……Just another of those legends of the time ,a member of ‘the club’

  3. ……..and here is that stixman ,playing the old tune again……………….last years version of Telstar…….. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wLb_Pxeql0Q

  4. The answer to my question: Micky Waller

  5. NO CIGAR THEN……..Gotta love that Telstar though..!!!!

Leave a Reply

