POMPEY POP

Principal Edwards Magic Theatre

2 Comments

I’m beginning to gather more information about our late-1960s Dance of Words and Arts Workshops at the College of Technology (became the Polytechnic in 1969). Jeremy Ensor was one of the key movers in much of that, including the Dance of Words (May 1968) and they booked PEMT as one of the acts, after which Jeremy left the College and became their bass player – you can see him here, in what he tells me is the only film of them. The theatre element becomes apparent in a way that was less obvious on radio/ LP

Author: pompeypop

University lecturer, longtime local musician and recently historian of popular music - especially in and around Portsmouth. My blog is entirely about that topic

2 thoughts on “Principal Edwards Magic Theatre

  1. He is also the first person walking down the steps near the start of the film. Jeremy tells me: “after leaving Portsmouth I joined Principal Edwards Magic Theatre and made two albums with them. After leaving them I worked as tour manager/sound engineer for various bands including Manfred Mann’s Earthband, McGuinness Flint, Groundhogs, Dick Heckstall Smith Band, Greenslade (I co-produced two of the LPs) and toured Europe and the States with Deep Purple and Fleetwood Mac. Later I joined Dan Loggins as A&R man at CBS followed by Muff Winwood. When I gave up the music business, I went into IT sales then IT training and I am now retired and living in North London”.

Leave a Reply

