POMPEY POP

Keeping Busy

Leave a comment

Last night, Milton Village Hall, Barebones (pic courtesy of Mick Cooper – thanks)

Scarlet Town, Milton.jpg

Just 14 hours later, Danny Raven and the Renegades playing for the Waterlooville Motorcycle Club

DR & Renegades.jpg

(l-r) Colin Wood, John Crow, ‘Dany Raven’, Marc Tuddenham, Pete Light.

Shortly after taking this shot, I sat in with them on a couple of blues songs (“Help Me” & “Stormy Monday”). I’m always fond of a sing with these guys but it was a particular thrill today to be there with not only Colin, but on sax, John Crow, both of the fabulous J Crow Combo – back in 1964/1965 my favourite local R&B band

So I got up to sing and play harmonica and MRA sat with my camera

And when I came back, I checked what she’d taken – which was:

 

 

So, when they took a break, I had a posed picture taken instead with the legendary John Crow himself – another tick on the ‘Bucket List’ as Colin remarked.

DA & John Crow

Author: pompeypop

University lecturer, longtime local musician and recently historian of popular music - especially in and around Portsmouth. My blog is entirely about that topic

Leave a Reply

